jump to navigation

Lesson Learned October 25, 2006

Posted by eburgess in The Challenge.
trackback

You can get some really good deals on woot! In fact, sometimes you can get such a great deal that you can turn around and sell the item on eBay for a profit. However, sometimes there’s a flaw in this premise – if you think you can resell the item on eBay for a profit, so do a lot of other people!

A few weeks ago I bought a wireless-g router on woot! for 39.99. After some checking, I noticed that the same routers were selling consistently on eBay for $50+. So, I decided to buy a 2nd one using my contest proceeds in hopes to turn a quick profit and add to my pot. After I got the routers about a week later I jumped on eBay, did a quick check and found that there were a LOT more of the routers for sale than the last time I checked – and now they were selling for around $45 or less! Oops!

At that point, I decided to give it a week or so and see if the supply would die down. After about 3 weeks, when things hadn’t lightened up, I decided it was time to just put it up for sale and take what I could get. Well, I actually ended up making a tidy little profit – and I do mean a LITTLE profit – of $2.89 (after deducting shipping, fees, etc.).

I’m not saying that you can’t buy something on woot! and make a nice profit. However, you just need to keep in mind that chances are there will be a LOT of other people thinking the same thing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

